School, school, and more school, and grandchildren

We have finished the first six weeks of the fall term, and I am struggling to keep up with the demands.  We have had a lot of flu in classes, both a variety of stomach flu and H1N1.  My local grandchildren and their mom and dad have suffered the former, and I have tried to help out with the little ones.  These duties have kept me from the garden and writing.

We had the large oaks pruned on Friday.  It is amazing that during an extreme drought, the trees grow as much as they do.  Some branches  touched the house and the roof. However, we have watered within the restrictions all summer long, so they have not stressed. More sunlight will reach the lawn and various parts of the garden.  Early Saturday morning before grading and babysitting, I quickly counted 30 species blooming (roses, cranesbills and other geraniums, etc. are all counted as one species).

Our fall has been cool and dampish.  We have not received much rain but a lot of drizzle.  Perhaps it only seems cool in contrast to the Hades-like heat of the summer.

2 Comments

  1. Meredith said,

    October 5, 2009 at 10:04 PM

    Interestingly enough, my son is home with the flu today, and just moments ago his fever spiked to 104. He’s a trooper, though. At times like this, the garden can wait. I hope you are taking care of yourself while taking care of everyone else!

  2. Phyllis Vail said,

    October 6, 2009 at 7:17 AM

    Fall in Raleigh brings the end to summer blooming and the plants become leggy. It’s sad to see the summer season end, especially since I have gotten such pleasure from my new “My Sister’s Garden”. After watching the garden this summer it is obvious that our maple has to go. The shadows from the long reaching limbs are preventing our perennials from developing more blooms. So, the maple has to go. Will have it taken down after the perennials die back. It will be an adventure next spring to see what comes up and how the sun will treat “My Sister’s Garden”.

    A Leatherleaf Mahonia has taken its place next to “My Sister’s Garden” and the garden swing. I have always been fascinated with its horizontal limbs growing in layers and the blue clusters of berries that form. Most gardens in our area have the typical azaleas, camellias, and hollies. So I watch for shrubs that may introduce a new feature to the garden. My husband thinks I’m addicted to planting and he may be right! Such joy!


Leave a Reply

