It Feels Like Fall

Gardening is sometimes a guilty pleasure.  I stayed up quite late last night grading and  preparing materials for my seventh grade English classes.  I opted out of my usual morning walk to work at school early.  There’s so much to do!  However as I prepared to dress, I heard my name whispered on the breeze and felt the golden spot light of the morning sun.  My name is Pat, and I couldn’t resist; I toured my garden while leaving my other tasks behind.  It feels like fall outside.  The temperature  cool, the humidity gone, and the sun bright. 

After the rains last week, the vegetation is emerald green and standing tall.  The beauty berries are purple and the puce fall lilies have added to their show, but the predominant color is a soft periwinkle blue, even though fall asters have not  begun to bloom.

This may be the perfect day.  Uh, oh!  The guilt has seized me by the throat as the clock flashed 9:23:57.  I must hurry to school, but I will remember– and hear the breeze, feel the sun’s warmth, and smell the garden’s fragrance as they bring me repose throughout the day.

4 Comments

  1. teresa said,

    September 21, 2009 at 10:45 PM

    Smelling the roses! Good for you!

  2. JimmyBean said,

    October 1, 2009 at 5:17 AM

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  3. Nell Jean said,

    October 4, 2009 at 6:56 PM

    Noticed your blog on Blotanical and stopped by to talk gardening. I learned several plants that thrive in my garden, from Texas gardeners: Bulbine, Tecoma stans and Pride of Barbados are 3. ‘Grandma’s Yellow Rose’ is another Texas product that I just love.

    • gardenfences said,

      October 5, 2009 at 8:57 AM

      Thanks, for taking a walk in my figurative garden. Bulbine does well in Texas gardens, but it is not native. Tecoma stans is, and it is a standout! It frequently dies back to the roots during our mild winter, but regenerates robustly each spring. I, unfortunately, just had to “edit” one out of my garden because it was growing too large. Where do you garden?
      Pat


Leave a Reply

